The X Factor: Season 9

Aug. 18, 2012
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes

The X Factor is a British television music competition to find new singing talent. The ninth series began airing on ITV on 18 August 2012 and ended on 9 December 2012. Before the start of the auditions process it was confirmed that Louis Walsh, Gary Barlow and Tulisa Contostavlos would return to the judging panel. Nicole Scherzinger was confirmed as the fourth permanent judge after Geri Halliwell, Leona Lewis, Rita Ora, Mel B, Anastacia and Scherzinger herself stood in as guest judges for the vacant position left by Kelly Rowland. Dermot O’Leary returned as host on ITV, whilst Caroline Flack and Olly Murs returned to host The Xtra Factor on ITV2. After the 8 December show, two of Scherzinger’s acts, James Arthur and Jahm√©ne Douglas, became the two finalists, meaning that Scherzinger was guaranteed to win. Arthur was announced as the winner on 9 December, and released a cover of Shontelle’s “Impossible” as his winner’s song. This has since gone on to become the second best selling winning single of any The X Factor winner, behind only series 5 winner Alexandra Burke’s version of “Hallelujah”. This series was the final one to feature Contostavlos as judge, as she will not return for series 10, where former judge Sharon Osbourne replaced her.

No episodes to show